Nissan-Navara.net banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
06 YD25 DDTi
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Any help is appreciated.

Recently moved to Belize and own a 06 Frontier diesel YD25 DDTI from Guatemala.
It has 200k miles and a list of issues.

I'll start with what's pressing and list the rest at the bottom so you can have a laugh at my predicament.

Pressed the clutch to shift the other day and the pedal bottomed out (slowly until all the way) and I couldn't get it back in gear.
I started it in neutral and got a push. Slipped it into gear and got to a Brother-in-law's place where we called several people, a couple of them cousins who are mechanics by trade, and got one to come over. His partner immediately said the clutch went out so they dropped the transmission and I spent a grand on a clutch kit. They replaced the clutch plate, the pressure plate, and the throat bearing. They used 10w30 since they didn't have transmission fluid.
It got too dark and wasn't working right so they decided to start again in the morning. Gave me a ride home and I suggested we get the right fluid in the morning and they said they would bring some actual transmission fluid with them.
They didn't.
Got back to work the next day when the cousin asked "what was it doing when I decided to replace the clutch". I told him what it was doing and that THAT was what I told his partner, and that it was his partner that said I needed to replace those parts.

He explained that the cylinder had lost pressure and that I DIDN'T need to replace all of that.

They did something (added brake fluid to the cylinder, maybe?) and got it pressurized.

They test drove it and thought they were done.