Nissan-Navara.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I know this topic will be familiar to a lot of users on here but as this is my first Navara I'm new to the topic.

Took my recently purchased 2005 D40 Aventura to my local garage to investigate failed rear fuel tank support...yes, you all know what's coming.....

When he got it up on the ramps the mechanic pointed out the poor condition of the chassis at the rear close to the cross member and junction of the springs. The truck falls outside of the Nissan Recall (which has finished anyway now) but my questions are;

• on a scale of 1-10, using the experience of users on here, how bad is the corrossion?
  • is it typical on this part of the chassis? The rest looks ok?
  • can it be repaired?
  • can you recommend a repair shop close to Sheffield with experience of these repairs?

Thanks for any help you can offer. I really want to make the truck good and keep it running.

Attachments

·
Administrator
13,642 Posts
Not great you can be sure that the corrosion extends beyond what you can see.

There's a company near Gatwick advertising on eBay, it would involve taking the tub off, cutting out the rusty stuff and welding in plates.
It's not going to cheap, but if the rest of the truck is good then worth the investment.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the information. Depending on cost might have to sell it runner or spares, let's see. It would be a shame.

Any other suggestions for a repair shop closer to Sheffield would be welcome.

Cheers!

·
Registered
251 Posts
Has the recall completely finished I thought it was up the 12 year mark ? I have a 2012 so are you saying I can’t claim on mine (mine is totally fine just wondering)

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Has the recall completely finished I thought it was up the 12 year mark ? I have a 2012 so are you saying I can’t claim on mine (mine is totally fine just wondering)