Nissan-Navara.net banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2.9K miles... keep finding few drops of oil every morning in my parking spot.
I know its perfectly normal for Landrovers, but for a brand new NIssan?

G

·
shouldn't leak oil at all mate, have you banged the bottom of the engine whilst going off-road....or could the leak be the a/c discharge?

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
a/c discharge no way... and i never done any serious offroading, just gravel and sand. Never hit the bottom. Alltho i am a harsh driver, rapid acceleration & stops. Will take it to Nissan.

·
Premium Member
1,445 Posts
I had this problem on a Merc Vito Van, it was the Turbo Seal or something to do with the Turbo,
People knew where i had been as they just followed the trail of oil from the Vito Van :lol:

Im not a fan of Merc Commercial.

·
Registered
566 Posts
Ray,
Park it somewhere clean then figure out where the oil is dropping from before moving the truck.

Back axle / Gearbox / Engine / Front Diff..

Have a look in the engine bay to see if it is leaking out of somewhere obvious. If you have not pushed the dipstick fully home or the cap is loose, the oil will blow out and the wind from driving carry it back to the bulkhead where it will run down and drip off.... :?

Good luck mate, home its something simple

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
HI, this morning i examined from where the oil leak might come from. It looks like its from to front of the engine, the first engine bit chich is visible have traces of oil. Taking it to Nissan at 3 o'clock.... wish me luck :shock:

·
Premium Member
1,445 Posts
:lol: Guess what.......

Spot the Leak :x

·
Registered
566 Posts
Ray,

no leaks lately tho, couldnt prove anything to my dealer yesterday... it was dry
You mean empty :shock:

Be careful when they offer a "fix" that they don't just add something to the oil to make the seal swell - thats a very temporary approach!

·