Nissan-Navara.net banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am waiting for a new truck and have read that there is a euro 3 and a euro 4 version. My dealer says all D40s are the same. What is the real story? TAI.

·
Registered
221 Posts
I guess if you get an anti 4X4 muppets banging on at you you can tell them your Navara is in line with European standards on emissions and is Euro 4 complient 8)

Just remember to say it with conviction as if you know what it means :D and then drive over them :evil:

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you for that, errr. No, I mean thank you very much but it means nothing to me. I am interested to know why the new euro 4 is less powerful (171 as against 174) and less economical than the D40 when it first came out. Is there a way of changing it back to get the better mpg and power. Again, thank you in anticipation and what a great forum.

·
Registered
221 Posts
I am no expert about this but the new standards probably require a'stifling' of the engine to get the emissions down.
New Motorbikes are suffering from this i.e heavy catalysers in the collector box reducing horsepower and adding weight.

As for regaining the horsepower and fuel consumption I don't have an answer, but I am sure someone on this forum will.

PS: Like your attitude by the way.....'Clarkson' would be proud of you :wink:

·
Registered
566 Posts
Chris,
It is illegal to degrade the emmisions back to Euro 3 from Euro 4. So, if you got pulled for a VOSA Roadside check, it will cost you. It will also probably fail its MOT in 3 years time..

Nowadays, you need to be really careful with exhaust mods / cat removal etc as they all ultimately affect what comes out of the tailpipe.

·
Registered
1,622 Posts
Well mine is a Euro 4 registered end September 2006 so its in the cheap £115 per year tax bracket :lol:

No noticable loss in performance or fuel consumption in real world terms so I'm very happy with it.

Bob

·