Nissan-Navara.net banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Afternoon All,
I took delivery of my NP300 almost 2 weeks ago now and it is the first commercial vehicle I have ever owned. I am not using this vehicle for practical trade purposes, more for the tax benefits in me having my own limited company (I am an engineering consultant). The question I have regarding insurance concerns the policy holder identification. The policy is currently in my name and not the company. The V5 for my NP300 is now in the company name. The question I have is, do I have to change my insurance policy so that the company is the policy holder? I am the director and the only employee of the company by the way. Thanks for any advice. Cheers.
Paul

·
Premium Member
11,343 Posts
I seem to remember being asked this by my insurance company (NFU), my truck is registard to me (my name) even though it's bought through the buisness so can claim back VAT. I think I'm right in saying the insurance policy holder HAS to be the same as the registard owner.

·
Registered
451 Posts
The insurance policy and V5 should be in the same name, otherwise you may have complications if you need to claim.
As to who should be named, it's up to you, as it can still be a company owned car, but you are registered to tax and insure it.

·
Registered
270 Posts
Captain - you sound the same as me, although my accountant said vehicle must be owned by the company so on the V5 it states my company name and when I did my insurance I said the owner was the company and I was the main driver (wife second driver) and insurance didn't bat an eye, very use to doing it and I used my previous NCD no problem at all. I used a commercial insurer - Admiral Van.
My accountant just said that if registered to company it just makes everything simple and gets away from any questions of who owns the vehicle and why claim the vat if its a personal name. Hope it helps.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Afternoon All,