Nissan-Navara.net banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I know this subject has already been covered but just looking to double check with someone who may have done it already to save me some time and money. I have a 2009 adventura with the built in sat nav. I wondered if this dash is the correct replacement in order to install a double din head unit.

https://m.ebay.co.uk/itm/Nissan-Navara-D40-Dash-Dashboard-Central-Surround-Trim-2006-and-heater-panel-/112617311913

Is it is suitable is it a straight swap or are there any miss that need to be done to make it fit. Also if anyone has had any joy finding an adaptor for using the steering wheel controls with an aftermarket head unit I'd really appreciate the link

Thanks.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
13,140 Posts
Yes, and you will need the oddments tray in the top. SWC - probably best to find a head unit that has built in capability.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,319 Posts
just about any modern unit will work, just check the website for a patch lead for your year and model, the Android units will also work with an adapter cable
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Do anyone know how to connect an aftermarket double din player to the original connectors? I've bought a couple of different wireharnesses but neither of them fits.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
I bought this from a specialistshop on the internet. Maybe ive got this all wrong?
Do i have to take out the CD-changer as well? When i took apart the centreconsole there was one connection for the buttons and one connection going in to the satnavscreen. None of these connectionplugs fits the wireharness ive got.
Ive been looking trough numerous of the treads covering this subject but the pictures in these treads are often gone...
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
13,140 Posts
Use Chrome browser on your desktop/laptop pc. Add an extension such as photobucket hotfix to Chrome. You can then see the pictures.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
I seem to have the same problem on my 2009 Pathfinder. I ordered the ISO harness and it doesn't fit the connection I have that goes into the back of the OEM sat nav display screen. The connector from the OEM display is 24 pins and the ISO harness only has 20. The only other audio connector in the car is a small one that goes into the back of the unit with the radio buttons.

This is the one I got https://incartec.co.uk/Pages/Product.aspx?P=3037

I'm going to contact InCarTec for some advice to see if they have a lead with 24 pins.

Matt
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
23 Posts
I've just though of something that I haven't checked yet. Could the connections to use actually be at the back of the 6 CD changer? I just looked at a picture of one and there seem to be 3 connections plus the plug for the aerial. I will take mine out and have a look to check
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
921 Posts
I've just though of something that I haven't checked yet. Could the connections to use actually be at the back of the 6 CD changer? I just looked at a picture of one and there seem to be 3 connections plus the plug for the aerial. I will take mine out and have a look to check
Yep that is correct, the connections are at the back of the Cd Changer (which is where the amp etc is)
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
4,572 Posts
The cd changer is also the radio built in
When you remove it you will see that it's actually 2 units bolted together (sharing a front face plate) the top 1 is the cd changer and the bottom 1 the radio which also controls the dash screen and houses the amps ect...
So you will find the wires you need there
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Finally figured this out. Downgraded the dash and refitted a Pioneer headunit the other day, after i found the rigth connections behind the cd-changer. Works great after some fiddeling around. Havent got the SWC to function properly yet. I have a Connects2-adapter but i dont think the dipswitch settings are correct. All the buttons work but not like intended. In the manual the settings for 2006 navara and 2008 navara are different, but i have a 2007 an neither of the settings work. Example: The enter-button is volume up and "Back" is now volume down. volume up and down are both "next"
Now im wondering. Have anyone ever tried to install an aftermarket trip computer? This was integrated in the satnav screen before, but since i have removed that i no longer can see avg fuel consumption, distance to empty a.s.o..
Since i also removed the cd-changer i can use the empty space for a trip computerdisplay or something.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
13,140 Posts
If your head unit has Android, you can plug into the OBD port with a suitable adaptor and using one of a multitude of apps you can read those trip and fuel estimations.

Of not, there are quite a few aftermarket devices that can do that, or even build your own using Arduino etc.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
Dont think my pioneer has android.
Is it as simple as plug n' play? Connect someting to the OBD port and a display reads out the data? Ever tried anything like this?
Any recommendations, someting that looks godd, easy to install and fits a single din or sometihng?
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
13,140 Posts
Dont think my pioneer has android.
Is it as simple as plug n' play? Connect someting to the OBD port and a display reads out the data? Ever tried anything like this?
Any recommendations, someting that looks godd, easy to install and fits a single din or sometihng?
Never tried it, but there are quite a few on Amazon if you have a browse.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
66 Posts
Hi all . Looking for a iso wiring harness for this double din unit as i dont want to wire it in wire by wire .
Is there any about ?? It supports swc. Just wondering if i will need additional bits for it to operate with this unit ?? Thankyou
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
4,572 Posts
Hi all . Looking for a iso wiring harness for this double din unit as i dont want to wire it in wire by wire .
Is there any about ?? It supports swc. Just wondering if i will need additional bits for it to operate with this unit ?? Thankyou
What model nav you got? The plugs are different for the navs with satnav and/or dash screen
Also what radio are you fitting?
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top