Nissan-Navara.net banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello folks I'm a newbie, nice friendly forum here!! Anyway i was looking at buying a 2002 Navara form a dealer, it has 82k miles with a good service history, it has the 2.5Di engine(sorry don't know the code), two tone blue and silver with the snugtop, I really liked it, but after reading the Sticky on the technical forum regarding the conrod issue on the D22 I'm kinda scared now, will i spend my time driving it with the stereo off waiting on THE bang? I can't afford to buy an engine, and had my share of nissan engine failures with a S13 200sx. I will be changing from a 01 530D.
Any advice would be very much appreciated.
Thanks in advance,G.

·
Registered
221 Posts
Have a look at this posting.

http://www.nissan-navara.net/viewtopic.php?t=2068&highlight=

It may be useful.
You might have already done this but IMO I think it's also really useful to go and have a conversation with the dealer you are getting the vehicle from just to get an idea of what support/backup you are going to get.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply Ducktape, I live in Ireland so the dealers are not so helpful :roll: , I had a read at the thread earlier you posted, but I still have my doubts and to be honset I don't want to buy a car and hope that the engine doesn't self destruct, maybe a slot on watchdog might help. I really don't want to buy an L200, so it looks like an Isuzu D-Max for me, any other suggestions?. Gutted too as i had my heart set on a navara, what do you think?

·
Registered
221 Posts
I have owned my D22 from new and it has been a great vehicle to own, on and offroad.

I am part exing it for a new Toyota Hilux next week but it was a close run thing with the D40.
To cut a long story short the deciding factor was based on the need for greater rear interior cabin space and access.