Nissan-Navara.net banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi, I have a 3.0 diesel V9X Nissan Navara. I am new to the Nissan Club but not to this truck. It was my business partner but he has lost interest and said if you can fix it its yours - shame to waste it. The poor thing tries to start but fails. I am absolutely convinced it's air in the system after the tank was drained.

Reading around these seems like a pig to prime and there is diesel in the new filter.
The Navara is 2012, and it had a new fuel filter etc. I am trying to go back to basics, I have cracked off the furthest injector on the rail from the filter and I can see air bubbling but I would have expected diesel to be firing out its just dribbling :(
There are no ECU codes flashing on the dash or on odb so I am sure it is just out of fuel.

One thing I can see on the forum is the talk of the primer bulb? I have had the new filter out again and can't see it, any ideas where this is or is it a 2.5 thing only?

Also as I didn't swap the filter myself ( trust no one ;) ) I just want to be sure the pipes are even the correct way around? How can I tell? I have tried turning the key to see if there is a priming pump from the tank but there is no fuel from either line nothing is even dripping out. There is 1/4 tank of fresh diesel in the beast.

I also noticed a little stiff fuel pipe in the centre of the engine, it is marked as a fuel pipe but it is capped off, I can remove the cap and its a port? - is this a priming / bleed point?

If I can get it running I get a free car!

Any help or advice will be great :)

·
Administrator
15,346 Posts
On the V6 there is a priming pump supplied as a separate item. Have a look behind the seats to see if it is stashed there, alternatively you will need to get one.

The procedure is quite straightforward,.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hi thanks for this :)